Dress and Needlework Progress

I cut out a tunic today based on this website: http://snowplow.org/sarah/pers/SCA/tunics_stepbystep.pdf I am using cotton/poly broadcloth that I got for $1/yard. I’m not crazy about the fabric and I don’t know if I will actually wear this tunic. It is mostly a practice piece before use more expensive fabric. I saw a beautiful, red linen/rayon blend at Joanns that I think I am going to use for the tunic for my Viking Garb.

I read a book about the embroideries of Hardwick Hall and it mentioned table carpets being made with turkey work. I was intrigued but couldn’t find much information. So, I posted on the Authentic SCA group and one of the members recommended several books which I immediately reserved at the library. Anyway, I found more mention, got some canvas, and just secured it to the frame. This will be a small piece, no where near the size of an actual table rug, to see if I like the stitch and the way it looks.

This entry was posted in carpet, garb, needlework. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dress and Needlework Progress

  1. How did you learn to sew? Did your mom teach you? My mom doesn’t even do buttons ;). My mother-in-law is a great seamstress though. She makes all my costumes, God bless her. I don’t have the patience for that skill but I admire people who do. Looking forward to seeing you on the 26th!

Leave a Reply

