Thoughts on Creativity

Disclaimer, this post may ramble a bit because I’m trying to clarify my thinking.

One of the blogs I read had a post last week got me thinking about creativity in general again. Within the last few years I’ve had friends (in and out of the SCA) say they are not creative/artistic. That bothers me because I think we are all creative in our own ways.

Every little kid thinks they are the best artist in the world and most parent’s reinforce this by putting pictures on the refrigerator, sending them to grandparents, etc… At some point though, the majority of kids start to think they can’t draw. For some this leads to thinking they are not creative. I’m not sure how this change starts. I’m not sure if it’s prompted by adults in their life, comparing their work to others, or a combination of factors. Either way, it’s wrong.

At some point I think we confuse artistic with creativity. I think there are a lot of different types of creativity. Good cooks, sewers, artists, scholars, business people and even athletes are creative. Creativity is just the ability to look at things differently.

I hope that makes sense, I’m not sure it clarified anything in my head but it’s a start anyway.

This entry was posted in creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

