12th Night

An Tir 12th Night was on the weekend of Jan. 10. I didn’t feel like spending $200 to stay in Eugene of all places, so, some friends and I drove down for the day. I had a great time. I spent most of the day at the consult table or at least in the room with the consult table. I had some really good consults but by the end of the day I felt like my brain was broken. I also got to talk to Aestel Herald who put my mind at ease a little about a letter I’m writing for Saint Gabriel.

I also spent some time talking to a friend about SCA politics, specifically, whether or not our shire should try to become a barony. I don’t usually like talking politics because I dislike confrontation and it’s such an emotional issue. So many people think if you believe something different than them you must be an idiot, especially with this particular issue. (Lest you think I’m exaggerating, someone was called selfish for voicing a different point of view on this topic.) However, this talk helped be sort some things out in my head, partially, because she seems to be able to distance herself emotionally from her opinions which helps. I never feel like my opinion is inconsequential even if it is different from hers. That is something I definitely appreciate.

I missed the first court but I did attend Coronation Court where my friend, Meadbha, took her oath as Argent Scroll Herald. She was so excited, I’m not sure she stopped grinning all night. When a herald is baptized they call the entire College of Heralds up in court. I happened to stand behind Tec who was bouncing up and down with joy. It was pretty great.

Last but definitely not least, I made some new friends and saw some old friends which is always great.

This entry was posted in 12th night. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 12th Night

  1. Sharon says:

    I’m sure missing Dragon’s Mist. I hope that no matter how the Barony issue is decided that it works out for everyone.

Leave a Reply

