The Tudor Housewife

I just finished reading The Tudor Housewife by Alison Sim.  While there is some good information it wasn’t all I had hoped for.  She doesn’t give many dates at all which I found odd since 16th century England changed a great deal from the reign of Henry VII throught the reign of Elizabeth I. 

Based on other reading I have done, most of the information seems to come from the latter part of the century.  However, the book includes a good sized bibliography, some of which are primary sources, so I’ll be looking for those now.

There doesn’t seem to be a lot of info out there for England in the 1530’s & 40’s which is my primary interest.  It seems like there is a lot for Medieval England & for Elizabethan England & later but not a lot for the transitional period between the two.  I’ve considered changing my persona to make it easier to research and because the earlier garb is easier to make but I haven’t found any period as interesting to me as I find Heinrican England. 

This entry was posted in persona, tudor england, women. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Tudor Housewife

  1. Sharon says:

    Thanks for the book review. I'm pretty sure I have that book sitting on my shelf!

Leave a Reply

