12th Night & Plans for the Year

K and I went to An Tir’s 12th Night at the beginning of January and had a lot of fun. We got there Friday evening which was pretty low-key. We got checked in, said hello to our friends and headed to the grocery store to get some groceries for the weekend so we didn’t have to go out to eat for every meal.

Saturday morning I had heraldry meeting which went pretty good.

K and I went to Chili’s for lunch. I hadn’t been there in so long and I had kind of forgotten how much I enjoyed it.

Saturday afternoon was mostly spent in court. My friend Eulalia got a goutte which was exciting. Then I got called up in court. Their Majesties Tiernan & Miranda presented me with a Goutte de Sang! What does that mean? A goutte (as they are commonly called) is An Tir’s grant level award for service. In some ways, it also opens the doors for me to do more service, which is exciting too. It also means that I get to display more stuff on my armorial achievement. I can now display my armory with a crest and a ribbon with the badge of the order hanging from it. One of these days I’ll actually get it drawn up and I’ll post it here.

We went for Chinese for dinner with our friends. That was fun but I think we may have overwhelmed the staff when all 12 of us showed up in garb.

After dinner we did toast, oath, and boast which is exactly what it sounds like. My oath was to get more involved in scribal, I’ll get to that in a bit.

Sunday was meetings for me, financial meeting & corpora. I have to say I kind of enjoy those meetings. I realize that probably proves that I am crazy but I like knowing what is going on. It makes me happy.

I have a few plans/goals for the upcoming year.

First, as I said above, I want to get more involved in scribal. I started doing that a few years ago but I got sidetracked by other things. To that end I went through all my materials to figure out what I have and what I might need. I actually have quite a bit. I may need to get a couple of colors of paint but that’s about it.

I also want to design an award charter this year. I’m think I’ll start with a Dragon Scale charter. I even have an exemplar but I’m going to keep that a secret for now. 🙂

I also need to do the org charts that Black Lion asked me to do. I think I might actually do two. One that is generic, with the titles only that can be posted on the webpage, and another that has the incumbents for Black Lion.

Fourth, I need to get my pouch finished. The embroidery is about 3/4 done. I need to research how to finish it a little more. I have a good idea on that but I need to do a little more research to collaborate what I’ve already figured out.

Finally, I want to work on learning the recorder and guitar a little more. I had a good start on that but kind of got off track during the holidays. I’d like to be confident enough with them by the time event season starts that I can take them to events without being embarrassed.

This entry was posted in 12th night, awards, events, german brickstitch, goals, guitar, needlework. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

